NaPoWriMo Day Eight (4/8/14)

Today’s prompt was to rewrite a famous poem, putting our own spin on it ~ One of my first favorite poets was Emily Dickinson, so how could I resist?
~

Because Death rode the Metrolink –
He’d kindly pay my fare –
So I instead hopped in my Ford –
And booked it outta there.

Said my prayers – in the bright Negev –
Partied in Tel Aviv –
Had so many cats in east Wales –
The Prince asked us to leave –

Wrote one hundred poems – in Spain –
Drank chocolate in France –
Adopted forty little hens –
Enjoyed a brief romance –

In Nome – I stayed in my pj’s –
Tho I could feel a chill –
Turned Death into the IRS –
Rode a moose to Brazil.

He sent me postcards from my grave –
And signed, “Wish you were here!” –
But, I had a queue on Netflix,
And beets to plant next year.

I’m as swift as a wild mustang
I won’t be late – you’ll see –
I’ll turn my sails for tomorrow –
Quick as Eternity –
~~~~~

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

